In The Refuge

I spend considerable time painting scenes from the Ridgefield bird refuge in Ridgefield, Washington. This is a scene that impacted me each time I passed by these tangled trees in my car. One day, the light was just right and the fall colors were really singing. The park rules state that one can not exit their vehicles when in the park on the trail. I took a photo of this setting from my car window and started this painting that evening. This painting turned out a bit impasto in technique due to the tangled branches and colors of the leaves. This is a departure from my normal method of glazing and scumbling of colors on the canvas.

One Response to “In The Refuge”

  1. Intriguing balance, Jim, and a wonderful sense of airiness. We love driving through the trees at the refuge too and know how infrequent the light is right for photos there. You captured it well. Very nice.

Leave a Reply

