The Refuge Cove

“Refuge Cove” is one of those paintings that started as a plein air experience and ended up as a studio painting. I am not a purist as some outdoor painters are in that they insist one should not put another brush stroke on the canvas after putting away their easel, although I have a great admiration for those who can do this. Back in the studio I can always see some improvement here and there on the canvas the next day. I may go out to the location again and finish the work, but invariably will depend on my memory of the experience complete the canvas. I was pleased to read that even the great plein air painter Corot, of the Barbizon School in France did the same thing. I would say that is not bad company to be in. This painting is currently on view at the Washington State University Art Gallery until march 26.

2 Responses to “The Refuge Cove”

  1. Your paintings are beautiful. I’m a photographer and your work inspires me. Thank you for sharing.

    • Ferrell,
      Thanks for your comment. It is always a pleasure to receive compliments from graphic professionals.
      It means that the emotion experienced in a picture is that of the viewer as well as the originator.
      Jim Gola

Leave a Reply

