Upper Lucia Falls August 2008

 

“Upper Lucia Falls” was a new experience for me in that I completed this painting in about two hours using color sticks without handles (pastels).  I must admit that I really enjoyed approximating my color choices from what was contained in my pastel box. At times, a limited pallet does wonders for our art. 

Although there is nothing quit like using oils, the expediency of pastels has a lot to say for the medium. This turned into a real enjoyable afternoon of experimentation for me. I will take the box of sticks with me again soon, although I will tweak the list of other accessories I bring with me, in particular – a cushion, as two hours sitting on a rock is not my idea of sitting in a beach chair.

I hope you enjoy this picture as much as I did painting it.

2 Responses to “Upper Lucia Falls August 2008”

  1. Hey Jim,
    This one is fantastic! Maybe one of your best. I love that you’ve finally loosened up a little, and now we can appreciate the atmosphere of the area, the spirit of the scene, without being distracted by the small details. Bravo, my friend!
    Ines

  2. Barry Williamson Says:

    Hi G,

    For me you have captured the immediacy of the scene. I particularly like the water – both above the fall and as it races over the rocks.

    Barry

Leave a Reply

