Nature Trail

 

During my beginning experiences with Plein-Air painting, I was naive to think I could handle a larger format painting in a limited amount of time. This one was started on an18″ X24″ stretched canvas. Needless to say I was not able to finish it in the window of light I had available to me.
The outdoor work proceeded back at my studio as an indoor work. Still, I was pleased with the finished result.
The motivation behind this view lay in the small crevasse centered between the trees in the background across the lake.
I wanted to create a bit of mystery as to what was behind the small dark passage way between these trees. As it turned out, the trees themselves became the dominant part of the image.

For colored Giclee prints of this painting, go to:

http://fineartamerica.com/featured/nature-walk-jim-gola.html

3 Responses to “Nature Trail”

  1. nancy knowles Says:

    This has to be one of my absolute favorites of yours, Jim! Great job!

  2. One can see the passion in your work. I would love to hear more about your plein air experiences. You do beautiful paintings.

  3. clarkcountydiva Says:

    Dear Jim,

    This is just beautiful and so much reminds me of the peacefulness of a New England childhood.

    Warmest regards,
    Elizabeth Madrigal

Leave a comment