Sailor’s Delight

sailorsdelight599pix72dpi.jpg 

“Sailor’s Delight” This painting is part of my “painting a day” series in which I produced 30 paintings during the month of August, 2007. The exercises were designed to allow me to think in terms of a limited palette while executing the paintings with a loose abandon, the end result being more spontaneity in the series. You may order prints of this painting in various sizes by going to Fine Art America at:
http://fineartamerica.com/featured/sailors-delight-jim-gola.html

4 Responses to “Sailor’s Delight”

  1. Wow, it’s so loose I never would have guessed this was a painting of yours Gola. Awesome. Great work.

  2. Hmmmm..maybe I have passed the point of “too” loose???
    Gola

  3. john stephenson Says:

    You must realise that my comments are from a photo-realism position. The first impression is WOW! I appreciate the effect. But after closer inspection it feels like a stage along the finishing trail. The forground trees are blurry & out of focus while the for GROUND is more clear. Also the background sky above the trees has excess pigment. If though that is the intended effect, I stand down.

  4. John…
    When painting quickly, I do not become overly concerned with technique or impasto. The end result desired is to create an emotion regardless of the above. I don’t think I was aware of how the brush was handled but focused more on colors utilized and the values of same.
    You comment, “Wow” basically is what it is all about for me.
    I sometimes do not know what the end result will be until after the painting is completed. I wish they could all be “Wow” pieces but that is an elusive wish.
    Gola

Leave a Reply

