Time and Old Friends

Time and Old Friends 

I have not done a lot of still life paintings during the past few years. That is going to change. It is my understanding that still life paintings are the least likely to sell in galleries. I don’t know why this is as we have a host of great still life artists practicing in America today. Perhaps it is because many paint still life works do not have a story to tell.
When I was fifteen years old, I fell in love with Michael W. Harnett’s (1848-1892) paintings.
Even now at age 70, I still stand transfixed at his handling of paint and colors. It was Harnett’s work that initially interested me in painting. If anyone was to be given credit for starting me out, it was this artist. I grew up in Philadelphia (the city of art) as a kid. Original Harnett works were easy to locate and view. I studied them intensely. My style of still life painting is much influenced by this study of his work. In the next few months, I will be putting up a few of my recent paintings depicting items I find in my scrounging around antique stores. I hope the upcoming series will reflect a little of what my long gone Master, Michael Harnett has taught me. “Time and Old” friends was painting a few years ago.
It is one of my “keepers”. I hope you can “read” into it.
For an actual size Giclee color print of this painting, press my link to Fine Art America…
http://fineartamerica.com/featured/time-and-old-friends-jim-gola.html

3 Responses to “Time and Old Friends”

  1. Colleen Says:

    Jim – wonderful – couldn’t have captured it better

    having trouble w/a painting w/snow… need depth – can you help?

  2. Colleen…
    Send me a digital of your painting and let me see what you are doing?
    Send it to jimgola@hotmail.com
    Jim Gola

  3. Amazing blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download it
    from somewhere? A design like yours with a few simple
    tweeks would really make my blog stand out.
    Please let me know where you got your design. Many thanks

Leave a Reply

