Color Burst – Woodland, Washington

colorburstwoodland92dpi.jpg

“Color Burst”, a small format 12” x 24” oil on Masonite was a scene that immediately caught my eye while walking in my neighbor’s fields.

The residual of last year’s crop, the orphans of the harvest were shortly due to be plowed under.
It is always a treat to catch a moment in history that will never again be repeated in exactly the same way.

The colors in this case was almost my full palette which is composed of all thirteen colors. The greens which are fairly intense were variations of cadmium green with admixtures. The brighter green accents seen (not normally on my palette) came from  a small tube of chrome green I keep on hand for just this purpose.

On afterthought and after completion of the work, I should have toned down the sky a bit to keep the eye in the foreground and middle ground of the painting. As one modification leads to another and without the hammer over my head to stop when I should, I decided to leave well enough alone.
As always, your comments are welcome.  
Thanks for visiting.
You may comment direct in the box below and I will continue the “thread” on general nature comments.

This painting may be purchased in a Giclee format print by going to:
http://fineartamerica.com/showframe.php?id=84816&paper=true

My weekly “Jim Gola’s Painting Blog” may be found at : www.jimgola.wordpress.com

2 Responses to “Color Burst – Woodland, Washington”

  1. john stephenson Says:

    Nice work Jim. I would like to accompany you on one of your nearby (one day) painting sessions so as to “learn from the master” some of your techniques. If you think that would be OK let me know. John

  2. John…
    As soon as the weather breaks, I will give you a call and we can just go over the bank from my house to the fields below. If you want to follow along with me, have a primed 12 x 16 piece of double primed Masonite ready to go. I double prime the boards to retain more texture to paint over. The oils seem to hang better on the surface and the colors dry brighter. I have been using Graham’s oil with his walnut alkyd medium.
    I believe this has something to do with maintaining the color brilliance on the hard panel surfaces I have been painting on.
    Gola

Leave a Reply

