The Red Coach Stop

The Red Coach Stop

“The Red Coach Stop” was painted on an outing (en plein air) with the Northwest Oil Painters Guild a number of years ago. The building portrayed has since been modified (added to) so this view now becomes somewhat historical. The building is located adjacent to the Ridgefield Refuge in Ridgefield, Washington.

Painting was completed on site and executed on 3/8″ Masonite twice primed board.
I paint with more medium while outdoors therefore much of the sienna primed background showed through upon drying. This does give the sky area more effect in the lighter areas.

My paintings are also executed with hog hair bristles outdoors and I seem to handle them with more of a scrubbing motion than a normal painterly approach.
This painting among others is also featured on the FineArtAmerica.com site where a secure “Shopping Cart” is available.
I am able to offer a number of Giclee Print sizes in lieu of the original artwork purchase if desired.

The Fine Art America Gallery can be found at:

http://fineartamerica.com/featured/the-red-coach-stop-jim-gola.html

You may also visit my website at:

 www.jimgola.com

10 Responses to “The Red Coach Stop”

  1. scaryreasoner Says:

    Nice work. Plein air is tough, I’ve tried a ver few (in acrylic). some worked out well, some ok, a few disasters. 🙂

    What size is this? Also don’t find the size listed at the Fine Art America Gallery, which seem sa bit odd.

    You do nice, interesting work, I plan to keep watching your blog.

  2. Idyllic, that’s the word that came to mind when I saw this painting.

    I wish you well.

    ~ Jeques

    Postscripts: Please check out a photograph of one corner of my apartment where I display some of my paintings. Click link below:

    http://jeques.wordpress.com/2007/12/13/cosmic-dust-once-too/

  3. Scary…

    I think I did that painting on a 16 X 12 format board. It is out at a gallery at present so I could not physically check it out here in my studio. That is about the max size for me when painting plein air. Larger sizes take too much coverage time and I usually end up finishing them in the studio.
    Fine Art America does have the Giclee sizes listed with max size being 16 X 12 and then they step down.

  4. Jeques…

    I see you have some new art in the photo. The painting on the extreme left is very nice. Now that you have the technique down that suits you, let’s see some new wild colors in your work. As you seem to be design oriented artist, brighter colors will blow the socks off your paintings. Give it a shot and see if I am right.

    A poet you are… do you have your first book published yet??

    All the best…

    Gola

  5. Thanks for that pointers, Jim.

    Regarding my poems, I haven’t published a book yet. I still don’t know how. Just getting ready while waiting for my luck But I had some works published before in the newspaper when I was still in the Philippines and won writing competitions. Click below to view:

    http://jeques.wordpress.com/2007/12/11/1sts-9-publication/

    I wish you well.

    ~ Jeques

  6. To see finished paintings done in the traditional Plein air style, with such impact is rather rare these days.
    Very Nice.
    Garry

  7. Jim – I think the “Red Coach Stop” building is the original home of U-Haul trailers, that was started here in Ridgefield.

  8. Barry Williamson Says:

    The contrast bewen the background dark green of the trees, the foreground lime green of the grass and the orange/ brown of the coach house makes the painting really vibrant

    Barry

  9. Garry…

    Tks for the comment on the “Coach Stop”. I think the key to that number was the amount of medium I used with the paint. I didn’t get it overworked and was able to glaze and highlight certain areas easier than I normally can do when on site.
    By the way….
    Your website is not coming up. You might want to check it out.

    Jim Gola

  10. Thanks Jim
    My website and forum have been under a Hacker attack for the last couple of days.
    A new hardware firewall has been installed by my hosting provider, the hack attack seems to have stopped. (At least for the moment)

    Your painting is a fantastic effort, it shows what can be achieved using the plein air method from a master of that style.

    I myself, by the time I got organized to paint plein air, all daylight would have already gone, and I’d be using torchlight to paint with. (Not a good look)

Leave a Reply

